Made a Small Book Today

I had so much fun this morning making a faux Midori book. I love making books and this was quick and fairly simple. I found a you tube video here for the leather cover. Here is a video on making the books to put in it. This was my trial and error book. I do need to use heavier elastic as the thin probably won’t last long. I will put all the books in a book press to flatten them. Also more flexible bookmark thread.

My next project will be with heavy leather and will be using an orange die for the cover. Loved the sample of the color in the store. Yes, Linda, orange leather dye!

There are quite a few pictures so here goes.

Leather Bk Cover

I also stamped my name in the side of the cover.

Myrna

Side View

Front Books

Back Books

I can’t wait to make more of these. It was so much fun. I haven’t decided what I’ll use it for but love just looking at it and smelling the leather. LOL

Thanks for stopping and visiting with me and for leaving a little love.

Happy New Year!

M

4 responses to “Made a Small Book Today

  1. Very cool on how you created this book! It should turn out pretty cool when it’s totally finished and stuff gets put in it!

    Love always,
    Drew

  2. You go Myrna!~!!~ This looks like a good year for posting in art journals and making books. Love yours Myrna and plan on checking out the videos. I am going to be posting tomorrow – surprise surprise!!
    Tomorrow is the first day of a New Year!!!!!!
    sandy xx

  3. Looks great. Glad you found a fun project to work on to end your year. I’m looking forward to seeing your next project.

  4. I couldn’t imagine another color for leather !!!!! Doesn’t everyone use ORANGE !!!!!!!! Can’t wait to see the finished project. Oh how I wish we lived closer together so we could do these projects together !!!

Leave a Reply

