Matchboxes For My Favorite People

I always do things the hard way. I decided about a week before Christmas I was going to make Randy, Drew and Madyson a matchbox for their Christmas card. I took a class from Kate Crane online on how to make matchboxes. I had so much fun doing them that I hope to make more!! Madyson’s box was using Tim Holtz die so that was easy. Randy and Drew’s I had to find a pattern that was bigger. Then cut the pattern out of plastic so I could reuse it over and over again.

I decided for the guys to make books. That required sewing with a machine. Ok, sewing is not my thing. First book, whew, no problem! Second book, oh no, my machine got stuck in one place so I had a big gob of thread. Yikes! So I had to try and fit a piece of duct tape over the first piece. If you have every worked with duct tape you know how much fun that was. ūüė¶

They¬†are a combination of Distress Inks, Mixed Media and rubber-stamps and pens. Both images were from Stampotique. The angel was one Kate Crane’s images called Angel Squared¬†and Heart Boy¬†by a different artist. I colored them with copic markers. I’ll warn you a lot of pictures.

Randy’s

Randy's Box

Randy's 3

Drew’s

Drew's Box

Drew's 3

Madyson’s

Madyson's 2015

Madyson's 3

I thought she¬†could practice her ABC’s on the little book. What a keepsake for her when she gets older and looks back and her first printing.

I wish you all the best in the coming new year!

Thanks for stopping and visiting with me for a while and for leaving me some love.

M

6 responses to “Matchboxes For My Favorite People

  1. What fun projects, Myrna! And thank you for the gorgeous Christmas card! Another one to inspire me.

  2. Delightful Myrna!!!!!

  3. These are fabby Myrna, I love them. What size are they ? I have a tim Holtz matchbox die but the boxes are small.
    Hugs
    Wynneth x

  4. Your boxes turned out great, Myrna. Drew and I can always count on you to come up with something creative for us. They look perfect to me. If it weren’t for you tattling on yourself, I would never have guessed there was anything wrong. Glad you enjoyed making them as much as we enjoyed receiving them.

  5. AWESOME !!!!! That is not anything I would try.

  6. Awesome job coloring and designing all of these boxes and books that you made to fit inside those boxes! Very cool ideas and very cool how they all turned out!

    Love always,
    Drew

Leave a Reply

