Birthday Card for Nikki!

by Myrna

A couple of weeks ago my sister, her hubby  and my niece and her family surprised us by stopping on their way home from a Family Reunion. Of course, I had to take some pics of our precious Madyson!! I’ll never forget that tiny little body running down the mall with her arms pumping as fast as her little legs. What a sweetie. It was so good to have them here even if the time was short. Here’s one of my favorite pics of them.

When I saw the Little Darlings Science 101 image I knew I had to make it for Nikki! You can find it here at the Little Darlings Store. She teaches Advanced Biology and Chemistry. The things she talks about that they do I wish I could have had her for a teacher! She is one tough teacher but the kids love her! What a perfect image for her birthday! What is really great her birthday is three months away!! What a first to be ready that far ahead. 🙂

The image also takes me back to the days I worked in a lab! Yep, I was that vampire that took your blood! Ah yes, the memories of someone else’s urine dripping from my hair and face. Having to take meds because I drew blood from  someone with encephalitis. Ah, those were the days. LOL! No, I can’t say I miss it.

Anywho, here’s my card for Nikki.

This was one of those cards I had all planned out in my head and it turned out exactly like I had envisioned it. I love it when that happens. I had to do some Googling to find a template for the Erlenmeyer flask. I just had to have it on the card! My hubby came up with the idea of putting Crystal Lacquer on the flask so I just added it to the one in her hand and the test tube and her glasses. I’m not sure I would do the glasses again. It kind of left her with a “mad scientist” look!

I want to come up with a science themed Birthday greeting for the back. “Wishing you all the elements of a Happy Birthday!” Something like that. It ended up being a strange size because I wanted the periodic table to show all the way around the card. So it’s a gigantic postcard!!

Stats

  • Stamps:  Science 101 – Little Darlings
  • Paper:  Pinecone, Navajo – Bazzill/stirred elements, cup of equations – Atomic Soup – jillibean soup
  • Copics
  • Flesh:  E000 E11 E00
  • Hair:  E31 E35 E59
  • Top, glasses, flower & shoes:  BG10 BG11 BG23
  • Lab Coat:  C00 C0 C1
  • Belt & Pants:  E40’s
  • Liquids: Y21 Y26 (No it does not signify urine)!!

As always I appreciate you stopping and visiting and taking the time to leave me some love!

Don’t forget that late Thursday I will be picking a winner for my stamp “An Apple A Day” that I used on the Blog Hop card.  So make sure you leave a comment for a chance to win it. I’ll post it and so will Angie at the Love to Stamp Store Blog on Friday the 5th.

Have a great day!

M

9 responses to “Birthday Card for Nikki!

  1. WOW!! I am speechless and you know that is almost next to impossible for me! It couldn’t be more PERFECT is how I would sum it up!! It was evident that you could really relate to her teaching experiences with your expertise in lab work. The periodic table, the flask, quiz, the lab coat, and all the molecular formulas in the background absolutely make Nikki shine like ” Science Teacher of the Year.” She often administers her tests and quizzes on a Smart Board just like that and with the assistance of computer technology the students know their test scores immediately. I think the added lacquer on her glasses is great cause in order to be a high school science teacher you must have the prerequisite of being a “Mad scientist too.” I can assure you that she will LOVE it and so will her students. It will be on an easel on her desk her students will enjoy it as much as she does. She decorates her room so colorful and inviting for her students and she also says that is where she spends over nine months of her life every year so why not make it cheerful? Your special birthday card will give her room a special conversation piece for everyone to ENJOY!! CONGRATS on completing her card so far ahead of time!!

  2. Such a cute card! I’m sure your niece is gonna LOVE IT!!!

  3. Absolutely delightful card creation!

  4. Evette K. Ciampo

    What a perfect card for a perfect teacher! Wow I bet it was great to pick up that little one. Sometimes surprises can be so great. Like if I won any stamps…lol. You did a great job on the card, honest. Perfect for your sister. Hope your visit was wonderful. ekc

  5. You said it all. The card came out the way you intended in your mind. Great job of thinking it through and then executing by putting it all together. The coloring was great and compliments the paper selections and the crystal lacquer on the beakers and glasses were nice added touches.

  6. Awesome job of coloring and designing this “mad scientist” for Nikki!!!! Love the crystal lacquer on the flask and test tube and even her glasses, very cool! Also really love how the chalkboard turned out with the little eraser and chalk pieces 🙂 Adding the elements and balanced equations papers also made the card awesome too! Great job on yet another card!!!

    Love, Andrew

  7. Wow Myrna, this is one amazing card.. looks like it took you forever to make it and put in all the little extras you made.. so neat.. and your board is stunning along with the lab tech!! So very real.. My compliments to you on your choice of colors and ideas… a wonderful and outstanding card that I am sure Nikki will absolutely love…
    Hugs, Jean

  8. Great card !!! It sure does bring back memories of the lab.

  9. This is incredible. I mean OMG…..I love everything about this card…..your periodic table and the flask!! Excellent idea and I’m glad you found it!!! This card is so well put together and VERY well thought out.

    Big HUGS.

Leave a Reply

