Hope

by Myrna Irwin

I have never had  images touch me so much as the Sugar Nellie digis Hope, Faith, Grace, Joy, Verity, Connie and of course Nathan. The pure innocence of their expression. Or maybe their names that give us hope in a troubled time. Or maybe that Nathan reminds me of when Drew was young and innocent and the ugliness of the world hadn’t touched him yet. Or the fact that Hope could be our very own Makayla. This image is her twin. All in our family have looked at the image and immediately said “it could be Makayla”! So of course I had to make her a Birthday card using Hope.

I have done something I rarely do and that is use ribbon, flowers, pearls and made a very girlie card. It seemed so fitting for “Hope”. This card was a sheer joy for me to make I “Hope” some of that rubs off on you too.

For the flower I used crinoline and tulle to make it. I have a whole new-found respect for seamstress’! Every time I thought I had the tulle in the wastebasket there it was on my hand again!!! The tutorial is here. Next time I want to dye it. There wasn’t a Distress Ink to match my aqua.

Stats:

Digi:  Hope – Sugar Nellie

Paper:  Turquoise Mist, Navajo – Bazzill/Formal, Snazzy – fine and dandy – MME

Nesties:  Petite Ovals,Sm – Petite Scalloped Ovals,Lg – Spellbinders

Dies:  Tattered Florals – Tim Holtz, med Flower – Beautiful Blooms II #1 – PTI

Punch:  Pine branch – MS

Distress Ink:  Scattered straw

Glimmer Mist:  Iridescent Gold – Almost next to impossible to see it even in real life!!!!

Copics:

  • Flesh:  E000 E01 E11 E00
  • Hair:  E50 E51 E53
  • Eyes:  E50 E57 E59
  • Lips:  E00 E15 E08
  • Hair bow, top:  Goo BG11 BG34
  • Trim on top:  Y21 YR23 YR24
  • Outline:  Co C1 C3

Thanks for visiting! 

M

9 responses to “Hope

  1. Awesome coloring job on a great stamp. Everything just ties together so well with the ribbon, bow and flower being a great compliment to the selection of papers.

  2. Myrna she is just beautiful ! You did an amazing job on her.
    Hugs

  3. You captured the look of hope in her expression !!! She is adorable. I love the colors of aqua and brown for the background. Wonderful card !!!

  4. Awesome card coloring and design!!! Looks like a photograph:) Great job on yet another card:)

  5. She is gorgeous Myrna! Beautiful coloring and I love the flower you made! Stunning! hugs, Angela

  6. Gorgeous Myrna – absolutely gorgeous!!
    Sandy

  7. Oh Goodness Myrna, she is soooo very beautiful.. you did a gorgeous job coloring her and your flower and ribbon is absolutely awesome…. You did such a wonderful job that I think I must get this stamp, but will have to know where to get it from…. Thank you for sharing it…
    Hugs, Jean

  8. Wow Myrna! This is stunning and so beautifully coloured. Her hair is perfect! Ooooh and that flower you made from crinoline is absolutely beautiful. Hugs, Maria

Leave a Reply

