I Tried Four New Techniques! I’m Lovin’ This Outside The Box!!!

by Myrna

I really have had a lot of fun this week trying new things! My first two new techniques were to dye my seam binding that I ordered. Of course, I HAD to dye an ORANGE ribbon. The first tutorial was Tammy Tutterow’s Glimmer Mist one. Which is here.

It really is more peach than this dark orange.

The second tutorial on seam binding was Bev Rochester’s using Distress Ink. Found here. You end up with two very different results. I like them both.

The third new technique was the twisted easel card. I made a 6″ and a 4″ one. Yep, you guessed it I used the reg Tilda with hanging star and the mini one. My fourth technique was the “Sunray effect” that Geri Utterback did. Found here. Although, I’m saying it is a blazing star effect. LOVE IT! Takes a bit of time but well worth it.

The first card is the reg Tilda. Very simple card. I didn’t think flowers would be in the sky. So I passed on any embellies on the top half of the card. LOL

Second card is the mini.

Cards together to compare sizes.

The blues match better than what they are showing. On to my stats.

  • Stamps:  reg & mini Tilda with hanging star – MLC ’10, mini celebration tag – Graduate & Student Col ’09 – Magnolia
  • Thank You and Happy Birthday – Printworks
  • Paper:  X-Press It
  • Marmalade Blast, Island Breeze – Bazzill
  • Citrus Pad – 12 x 12 & 8 x 8 – DCWV
  • Dies:  Nesties – standard circle, sm
  • Vintage tag & Tilda Lace – DooHickey – Magnolia
  • Punch:  2 1/2″ scalloped circle – Marvy
  • Inks:  edged tea dye on all the edges
  • dandelion & cantaloupe – Memento – sunrays
  • Copics:
  • Flesh:  E000 E00 E11
  • Hair:  E51 E35 E71 E25 E29 YR0000
  • Top, hair ribbons, ribbon on tag:  YR000 YR00 YR01
  • Ribbon:  B000 B00 B01 B02
  • Star:  Y000 Y00 Y02 Y04 Y17 – Crystal Lacquer
  • Wings:  W1 W3 – Angel Wings – Shimmerz

As always thank you for looking and leaving your wonderful comments!!

M

20 responses to “I Tried Four New Techniques! I’m Lovin’ This Outside The Box!!!

  1. Great job with the cards, Myrna! The ribbon techniques turned out great and orange one was perfect for the cards. I’m sure the oranges and peaches helped ground you with your ventures into new techniques. LOL. I’m guessing the recipients will be excited.

  2. Myrna, What will you try next ???? Love the ribbons–share the technique with us at club tomorrow. The cards are adorable. Is one of them for our swap at club ????? I love the “sunray effect “. It is a good background for Tilda.

  3. Awesome job of designing and coloring these two cards!!! Love them great job 🙂

    Love always,
    Andrew

  4. So bright and cheery! Really love the blue scallop…it really sets off your colors!
    Rene ;D

  5. Great job Myrna! Your cards are absolutly adorable!!!
    Judy K.

  6. I love the side by side comparison….really helps me to see the differences in size between the regular and minis. Your cards are fantastic and you did a great job showcasing different techniques. I definitely need to get me some seam binding. Hugs, Rosie

  7. I’m lovin that seam binding look! I have to try that technique! How cute these cards are side by side the mini and full size! Love them both so much! Your coloring is fabulous as always Myrna! Awesome design! hugs, Angela

  8. Love, love, love them both! Fabulous and the colors are so cheery & the techniques are wonderful! Gorgeous work all around!

    hugz,
    Suzanne

  9. Myrna, loving both the regular size and the mini cards. Can’t decide which one I like better–they’re both beautifully done. Love the rich colours.
    I love learning new stuff to do. TSF,

    Hugs,
    Norma

  10. I love the seam binding too – it seems to go with my style of card making — thanks for the tips. Your cards are wonderful –
    love the colors and the design. Very happy cards – delightful!
    Hugs,
    Sandy

  11. It is always great to learn different things keeps the mind
    active…love both of your cards…I am still learning and
    I am enjoying it
    hugs Linda

  12. Pretty & cheerful cards Myrna. How fun looking at both cards that you used the regular & mini stamps. Isn’t the binding awesome? I love it too. Very cute :o)
    Hugs,
    Cabio

  13. The cards are very fresh, very nice and could take part at our Qeeunsday overhere in the Netherlands.
    Just the right colors, bye Mascha

  14. I’m really loving your fantastic twisted easel cards here!! Beautiful and yummy ribbons for sure! 🙂 TFS! HUGS

  15. Wonderful cards!! Both so colorful and very cheerful!! I love that bias binding!!
    Hugs, Cathy-Lynn

  16. I am so happy I got to see these IRL! (can’t help but wish I’d got the mini in the swap though)… Beautiful work Myrna… so over the top charming! I just can’t get over how itty bitty the mini’s are! You are making them up so adorably! Wonderful coloring, designing and I love your ribbon! Can’t wait to try it myself! Inspired! : )

  17. I’m glad too that we got to see these this afternoon. It’s great that you are stepping out of your comfort zone and trying new techniques. Fun, isn’t it?!

  18. Myrna,
    I’m a huge fan of trying new techniques. All of these are wonderful ones too. I love your twisted easel card. I have yet to give that one a whirl but I am up for the challenge! Great job, girlfriend.
    Blessings,
    Leslie

  19. WOW!! Are you really into trying NEW techniques…way to go sis. The patience involved in dyeing your seam binding-remember mom using seam binding when she sewed for us? Never thought you’d be dyeing it for cards in 2011. The orange of course is top notch. The first thing it reminded me of is the color of a robin’s breast-I’m still patiently waiting to see the first robin in SD. Your thank you cards are so impressive and unique. And what next but a twisted easel card?? Like I told you before-you are on a roll and there is no stopping you now! Wonder what you will try next???

    Hugs,
    Bev

  20. Myrna, your cards are adorable! You are so courageous! I love the bright cheery colors you used. I love everything you did!

    XO,
    chris christensen

Leave a Reply

