Outside of My Comfort Zone and I LOVE IT!!!!

by Myrna

If you have followed my blog at all you know I’m not very good at going outside my comfort zone. I was determined I was going to try a new technique on Drew’s birthday card. I was PUMPED!! Colored my image, hmmmm, I didn’t like it. So I did another one. I liked it much better. Decided to sleep on it before I put the card together. In the morning I looked at both images and thought, ok, why was it I didn’t like this???? Like always there is always something you feel you could have done better. So I decided to make both of them up.

You also know I like my cards pure as the driven snow. I decided to try a “Distressed Newspaper technique”. Very messy, very vintage to me anyway. Guess what??? I LOVE IT!!!! I really got into the mess of it. LOL You can find the technique here. Growing up I had two bachelor uncles and they had a room that was filled with antiques and old newspapers. The room always intrigued me. I remember piles of old yellow newspapers. This technique reminded me of that. Crazy I know. It’s funny how our mind relates things to each other. My son also happens to be the spitting image of one of my uncles. Average height, rail thin, small boned and almost impossible to find jeans for. LOL Even their love for all things cowboy related. I think he’s spent to much time in Western South Dakota. 🙂

So here is my first card the one I’m giving Drew for his birthday.

 

Here is the second card. The one I didn’t like for some reason. I’ll use it for another man sometime.

Drew loves fishing. It can be -20 and he’s out fishing. NUTS!!!

I did take a pic of the inside. Usually I don’t do anything to it.

He hooked a sign instead of a tire!! If you look real hard there is some fishing line coming from the hook. I couldn’t decide what to do with it. So it’s just hanging around. LOL

 

  • Stats
  • Stamps:  Gone Fishing – Wishing You – LOTV, sign post – Stamps By Judith, today life …..- savvy stamps
  • Paper:  stash, Des Moines Register LOL
  • Nestie:  Standard Circle, sm
  • Die:  lg fishing hook – QuicKutz
  • Inks:  shabby shutters, barn door, tea dye, vintage photo, black soot – DI  Sky Blue – Vivid!
  • Copics
  • Flesh:  E000 E00 E11
  • Hair:  E51 E35 E25 E29
  • Hat & pole handle: all E30’s
  • Sweater:  B32 B34 B37 B39 B000
  • Boots: Green – BG93 BG96 BG99 C1 C3 C5 C7/ red – R32 R43 R29 R46 W1 W3 W5 W7
  • Reel:  C1 C3 C5 C7

You may see some new things from me this year. Breaking out of my rut!!

I enjoyed making these two cards immensely. I hope you enjoyed looking and always love your comments.

Have a good rest of the week. Drew’s coming home Friday for a week of Spring Break! WaHooooooo!!!!!

M

11 responses to “Outside of My Comfort Zone and I LOVE IT!!!!

  1. Adorable image, Myrna and beautifully colored! I can see why you like the first one better (even though both look great in my opinion)! Great layout and love the script papers you used! Love how you finished off the inside of your card too with that great sentiment on the sign! Beautiful job! 🙂 hugs, Angela

  2. Glad you slept on it and decided to do both. I couldn’t see why you didn’t like the 1st one, but I like them both. Great job with everything. The coloring was great and the newspaper technique turned out great, too.

    The photo for your banner was particularly appropriate, too. I have quite a different memory of that day, though. 🙂

  3. My dear friend – you story does not sound at all crazy because that is what all good cards are made of – the stories of our life and you remember that rich feeling of being in your uncles rooms of wonder. As a result you have made one
    magnificent card and creativity always flows from the soul. I love your card Myrna and now that you have really tapped the creative part of yourself – let it flow – it is wonderful. Always go where you heart leads!
    XO Sandy

  4. Myrna, I am impressed. You really went out of your box with both of the cards. I love them both and I know Drew will love his. I remember when all you did was scrapbooking and look at you now. Those copics kind of got you !!! I can’t wait to see what is coming next.

  5. Myrna I truly love both cards but I think you made the right choice giving the first one to your son. I guess you are wondering why I said the first one. Well for a young man who loves fishing I think the color of the boots are more appropriate. They look dark green to me and thats a perfect color for fishing. Now I do love the red boots a lot!
    Both your cards are awesome and lucky for us you are trying new techniques that will inspire us. Hugs, Fran

  6. He is the cutest fishing boy ever and I LOVE the red boots! Fabulous cards Myrna! Love ’em both and yes, I’ll take the “man” one for my birthday! lol Happy Birthday to Drew!

  7. Bravo!! You are doing one of the latest learning strategies being taught in the education world and that is known as “Connections.” It has attracted a lot of attention in the last 5 years. Kids use it in every class and l love to hear about all their connections. So proud of you –those connections are so near and dear to my heart also. I can see and smell the newspapers in our uncle’s house so it is quite nostalgic to me too. Now I also like both cards. However, you know I would always pick red boots if I had a choice. In fact, I have a red pair of garden boots (I know who cares)? Andrew’s birthday card could not be more perfect for him and the words inside are right on the money!!!! PERFECT!!!!! Look out world–NOTHING CAN STOP YOU NOW that you have stepped out of the box! CONGRATS SIS!
    Bev

  8. Absolutely awesome!!!! 🙂 Love it:) Thank you for everything!!!

    Love always,
    Andrew

  9. Wow Myrna, very cool! I love Lili of the Valley! I think both cards came out great. Such a sweet image.

    Hugs,

    Jackie

  10. Totally love this wonderful card!!!! Great job!!!!

  11. I love the ‘distressed newspaper’ look. Of course, I always like a darker look! Myrna, I really enjoy reading the comments you include. I feel like I am learning more about you, even though we’ve been friends about 30 years now!

Leave a Reply

