hAnglar Thanksgiving

by Myrna Irwin

What is it about human nature????? I just couldn’t get motivated to make this Thanksgiving card for Drew until it was almost to late to mail it. I had it all colored and pieces cut and decided I just couldn’t get it done in time to mail today. Drew said to just save it for when he came home for Thanksgiving break. Whew! the pressure is off. Then the conscience kicks in. You know how he loves to get mail! What kind of mother are you??? YES, I CAN DO THIS!!! So I spent the evening putting it together. 🙂 It’s been cloudy and dark here. Went to bed last night. Ok, I need sunshine in the morning to take the pic. What do I behold when I go in my studio this morning but the sunshine streaming in the windows!!! So here is Drew’s Thanksgiving card. I’m really happy with how it turned out.

Once again I went out of my comfort zone on this card. I used Prismacolor pencils for the shadow and ground. I even made my own little grass!! I was so excited. It doesn’t take much to get me excited!!! LOL I watched Chrissy’s video. Excellent video! It’s here. I have a huge box of the Prismacolor pencils and wouldn’t you know it I only had 2 of the colors she used!!! Isn’t that just like life!!! 🙂

Click on the picture it enlarge it.

I just LOVE these guys!!!!

Close-up pic.

  • Stamps:  Autumn Boy from Kit 13 – hAnglar & stAnglar
  • In everything give Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving – Darcie’s Country Folk – inside of card
  • Paper:  Kraft- Paper Reflections
  • Palo Verde & Capers – Bazzill
  • Tim Coffey Fall pad – K&CO
  • Punches:  Fall Leaves edge  – MS
  • Nestabilities:  Petite ovals, lg & Petite scalloped ovals, lg
  • Template:  cloud – Summer Fun – ANM
  • Copics
  • Flesh:  E000 E00 E01
  • Hair:  E51 E53 E55 E57
  • Hat, scarf & pants:  YG91 YG93 YG95 YG97
  • Sweater, gloves, shoes:  E11 E13 E15 E17 E18

Well, that’s it for today. I guess I better get started on Christmas cards!!!! YIKES!!!!!

Thanks for looking and as always I appreciate your wonderful comments.

M

18 responses to “hAnglar Thanksgiving

  1. Your card turned out awesome!!! The coloring, both markers and pencils were great, as were the paper selections. The metalic leaf turned out to be a great addition, as well.

  2. awwww Myrna, he’s perfect! love your coloring and colors and awesome shading everywhere! I still think of us sitting in my little “art” room as the g-kids call it and you bravely trying my copic markers “to see” if you’d like them… oh wow! I’m so proud of you! I can’t help it! You were the first I’d shown how to “copic” color and it makes me so happy to see how you’ve just gone “crazy” about them too! lol Now I’m wondering just how long ago that was! lol Glad you’re back in the “groove”! AND that we’re in the same city! : )
    Pam Going Postal

  3. Goodness, Myrna! This is just gorgeous! Your colors are wonderful and your shading is stunning! Nice job! Your layout and accent pieces are just perfect for a guy card. I think Drew will love this!
    Blessings,
    Barb

  4. Myrna – this card is beautiful — although a lot of these pastel cards are pretty – I love deep rich colors. The colors in this card are absolutely wonderful – the grass is perfect, I am gonna have to take lessons from you. Wonderful coloring and colors. Have I said that enough?
    Sandy

  5. Myrna, this is totally gorgeous! Your coloring is the awesome-est 😉 the colors you’ve used match your papers perfectly! Love the autumnal look of your card and the little background you created. He is adorable! Beautiful work! hugs, Angela

  6. Myrna, I just love this card. It is always so hard to make a masculine card, but you nailed it! Your coloring is beautiful. Love the clouds in the background. Thank you for sharing your beautiful talent!! Hugs, Teresa E.

  7. WOW !! You are getting as good as your teacher. Pam did a great job of showing you how to “copic”. Your choice of papers is wonderful. Drew will truly enjoy this one.

  8. Myrna that is just awesome I love the shading and you colored it perfect. What a great card and your son is just going to love it….
    Hugs♥

  9. Myrna this card is just beautiful! Love your coloring…..must try those pencils myself sometime! The clouds and grass are just perfect too!

    Blessings,
    Gloria

  10. Myrna,

    Such rich fall colors-your talent always amazes me beyond words. Of course, the metalic leaf is the perfect added touch!! Your love as Drew’s Mother shines throughout the card-priceless!! Would certainly love to see those fall colors stay with us instead of the winter colors that are fast approaching. But guess life consists of seasons and we have to be ready to move into winter whether we like it or not! There is certainly something to the beauty in all the seasons!!!!!!!! Have so much to be thankful for and your cards always enrich and touch our lives in more ways than you will ever know!! Please keep making your masterpieces! If we ever get the chance to live closer together you could maybe attempt to try to encourage me to use those pencils. Who knows-I’ll NEVER stop dreaming!~

    Hugs and Happy Thanksgiving,
    Bev

  11. Very cute. I love the colors.

  12. Myrna!!!

    May I made mine Angela´s words ??
    This is totally gorgeous! Your coloring is the awesome!! :))) all the colors are amazing. I also love the autumnal look and the background you created. This Hanglar image is so cute and you did a stunning job, for sure!!!

    hugs,

    Regina

  13. Awesome card!!!! I love it:) Each card you make does continue to get better and better, awesome job!!! Great coloring and designing of this one very cool!

    Love,
    Andrew

  14. Wow, your coloring is phenomenal! Great share.
    Blessings,
    Leslie Avila

  15. WOW……. Great card. Your image coloring is GREAT. I love to watch her video’s on coloring too. This is a beautiful image. I have a few of the older ones from a set and they are always fun to pull out and color. I love your grass and clouds too by the way. Your shadowing turned out perfect as well. Great job!
    Peggy

  16. You really should do more Myrna, I love coming by to check out your beautiful cards. This one is beautifully colored and the autumn theme is awesome :o)
    Hugs,
    Cabio

  17. Cute card. Lovely coloring.

  18. Myrna, your card FAB-U-LOUS. Love the warm rich autumn colours. Your colouring is totally awesome. Love those shawdows. Gorgeous DP’s–I think I have some of them…LOL. Your gold metal leaf is to die for. Love the card!

    Hugs,
    Norma

Leave a Reply

