Thistle Tilda

by Myrna Irwin

First, I need to tell you that Chuck, the older gentleman I had been making cards for while he was getting chemo treatments died late yesterday afternoon. It had been my pleasure to make him cards. I knew how much he enjoyed them. He would mention it every time Randy talked to him. He even called to tell me the last time. Unfortunately, I was not able to give him the last card I made. Randy did tell his wife and daughters about it. They laughed and said he would have loved it. Of course, he would have had a story for it. 🙂

They had just gotten back from Maine (they Summer there) Drew was home for a break from college. The three of us met Chuck, his  wife and two daughters for coffee at a coffee-house here. We will treasure that last time together always. He will be greatly missed.

This is the card I was working on yesterday. I have always liked this image and was on my list of want to do before Halloween. It’s a rather dark card for me. I even put black flowers on it, which isn’t like me at all.

Click on the picture to enlarge it.

 

  • Stamp:  Thistle Tilda – Magnolia – Halloween & Autumn Collection ’08
  • Sketch:  Happy Thoughts & Inkspots – Sketch 12
  • Papers:  Jubilee & Velvet – Bazzill
  • cauldron, mummy & Dracula – BG
  • Inks:  dusty concord – Distress Ink
  • Punches:  spider web – MS, Beautiful Blooms II #1 – PTI, stamen – Nellie Snellen, pine branch – MS,
  • Nesties:  Petite scalloped ovals, lg – petite ovals, lg
  • Shimmer:  Angel Wings – Shimmerz – used it on the wings and webbing on her dress.
  • Copics:
  • Flesh:  E000 E01 E11
  • Hair, & boots:  E50 E53 E55 E57
  • Sleeves & laces:  YR61 YR65 YR68
  • Dress & thistle:  V000 V01 V06 V09
  • Thistle greens:  YG91 YG03 YG25 BG93
  • Outline:  W1

I’m trying to work more on where the light is coming from. It’s not always easy for me to figure that out.

Thank you for looking and leaving your wonderful comments.

Tell someone today that you love them.

M

24 responses to “Thistle Tilda

  1. Hi Myrna,

    I think your card is beautiful and I also think it’s reflecting what you are going through right now. I kinda see it as your final farewell to Chuck 🙂 Just think, now he’s with real Angels!

    Hugs,

    Jackie

  2. You did a great job with the light. Pretty card.

  3. great Halloween card. I think your coloring is perfect!

  4. I was sorry to hear about Chuck. It’s so nice to be able to make a card for someone who you know truly appreciates it. And to know you bring a bit of happiness to them too.

    Even though this is indeed a dark card it’s beautiful. Your lighting source is pretty good too! It is definitely something that I am praticing too and can be quite hard on some images. 🙂

    hugs xxooo

  5. your card is amazing.. great coloring..
    Hugs, Katrin

  6. Hey Hun, UUUH just perfect for the the Halloween mood.OH THE COLORING IS BEYOND GORGEOUS SWEETIE!!!!I’m in awe with this card even if it’s dark it’s darn tooo cute lol!!! (((HUGS)))RubYM:)

  7. Great card! You do awesome work! LC

  8. Absolutely delightful in every way. Love the way you used the NS stamens. They really pop the card.
    Sue S.

  9. WOW! WOW! WOW! Myrna! this is stunning! Clicking on it really shows up all the detail! GORGEOUS coloring! Fabulous! You colored your heart out on this one and it shows!!! Tilda is beautiful!
    Pam Going Postal

  10. Awesome card!!! Your coloring and design layout are both great!!!! Another job well done!!!

    Love,
    Andrew

  11. Beautiful card, Myrna! You did a magnificent job coloring and showcasing this wonderful image. Love your blog!

  12. Hi Myrna,

    I love your card. I love the rich jewel tones that you used in both the image and the paper. It is just so pretty.

    I’m sending cyber hugs ((for you))

    XO,
    Chris Christensen

  13. Gorgeous card and so beautifully colored! This is one of the prettiest Halloween cards I have seen! Hugs, Cami

  14. Hi Myrna!

    Your card is gorgeous. I am not into Halloween as we never had it in New Zealand where I originally came from but I must say this is so beautiful. Your coloring is the best and I don’t think it looks dark at all. I would say it has a richness to it. Super job.
    Hugs Marion…(Maz)

  15. Myrna your card is stunning ! I love it and the way you have colored her is just perfect. Love your papers and the black flowers are the perfect touch.
    Hugs

  16. This card is too adorable! Love it! So sorry to hear about your friend…rest assured he is loving your card from up above!

  17. Love your card layout with the awesome papers. Your coloring is awesome. I like the black flowers on this card.

  18. What a beautiful layout, Myrna. Those are gorgeous Halloween papers. You’ve colored Tilda just perfectly! Love those embellishments! hugs, Angela

  19. Cool Halloween card!!! Pretty colored Tilda and awesome black flowers :o)
    Hugs,
    Cabio

  20. Another great card that drew you out of the box! Your coloring and paper selections were outstanding. As much as Chuck appreciated receiving your cards, I appreciated the effort and time that went to them, as well. And, yes, he will be missed by all.

  21. Wonderful card! I love the papers you used and black flowers.

  22. Lots of gorgeousness going on here. Love that spider web hem and you’ve colored her fabulously!
    Happy Halloween!

    Blessings to you~
    Leslie Avila

  23. Myrna, what a simply fabulous card. Love the colours. Cute Tilda and you’ve done such a fantastic job in colouring her. Love your black flowers–so fitting.

    Hugs.
    Norma

  24. So sorry for the loss of Chuck, Myrna. He sounded like an amazing person & I’m sure he appreciated all of the beautiful cards you gave to him.
    Huggies & Blessings ~
    Sharron♥

Leave a Reply

