Trying New Techniques!!!

by Myrna Irwin

I ran across a few new techniques that were just calling me to try. The first is a Distress Ink background that can be found here. I don’t know about you but when I try new things they never turn out like the persons tutorial that I’m following. I still like the look I ended up with though. I’ll retry it again when I have the Distress Ink Reinkers and see if it does make a difference.  Thanks to Zoe I found out there is a challenge for this tutorial it can be found here.  I actually entered my third challenge. WaHoo! Wow! how much stepping out of my comfort zone can I do on one card???? LOL! Next, I tried the shape easel card. Directions found here. I thank both of you talented ladies for making your tutorials!

If you follow my blog at all you know I made Drew a hAnglar Bat Boy Coffin Treat Box for Halloween. He loved it but said he didn’t have room in his dorm room so left it home after Columbus Day (Native American Day in South Dakota) weekend. So that meant I had to make a card to send to school. So this is what I came up with.

Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Another view

 

 

Poor Edwin he’s marooned on a deserted island with a ghost ship floating out to sea.

Stats for my card:

  • Stamps:  Pirate Edwin, barrel – Magnolia-Fairy Tale Collection ’10
  • Cricut:  Pirate Ship – Paper Doll Dress Up Cartridge I go from a 7 x 7 card with huge ship to this one at a whopping 1 1/4″ ship. Not an easy thing to cut out!!!!!
  • Nestabilities:  Label 8
  • Distress Inks:  scattered straw, spiced marmalade & vintage photo
  • Sentiments:  Computer generated
  • Copics:
  • Flesh: E000 E00 E11
  • Hair:  E30 E33 E35
  • Hat, boots:  C1 C3 C5 C7
  • Pants:  B32 B34 C1
  • Top: YR12 YR15 YR18 Y13 Y21 Y23 YR23 YR24
  • Barrel:  E31 E33 E43 E57 W3 W5

Another card outside my comfort zone. Hmmmm, kind of liking trying new things. WOW!!! That’s from someone who DOES NOT like leaving the comfort of old and familiar things. I’m growing! WaHooo!!!

Thanks for looking and love reading your comments you leave. Each and every one is appreciated.

M

 

22 responses to “Trying New Techniques!!!

  1. Awesome Halloween card !!! Drew will love this one, also. Your coloring is great and I love the little ship in the background. Hope you had a great visit while Drew was home.

  2. Awesome easel card. Your coloring was outstanding, as usual. I think the new technique on the background turned out great, too, and the ghost ship in the background was a nice added feature.

  3. I really think this card is wonderful – Love the new technique that you have introduced us to — gonna try it!
    Thanks, Sandy

  4. Wow Myrna, this is beautiful. You just tried the two things that I want to try!!! I want to do the distress inks background and different easel card shapes too. I think your card came out beautifully and I especially like the colors you’ve used for the background. Lately I’ve been paying attention to what the sky looks like when the sun sets so i can make a background similar to the colors I see.

    Very cool.

    Hugs,

    Jackie

  5. Awesome Halloween Card. Your distressed background turned out really well. Your coloring is wonderful.
    Hugs~
    Corinne

  6. Myrna! Your card is wonderful! Yay! for you going out of your comfort zone and trying something new. I think the backgound is amazing!!!
    Hugs, Dena

  7. How adorable!!!! Just fantastic…great job!!!
    Rene

  8. Myrna,

    You did a wonderful job! I love the end result and thank you so much for the tutorial links – both were things I wanted to learn but didn’t know where to go to find out! A+ on your card!

    XO,
    Chris

  9. Another beautiful card, Myrna. What a fabulous background you created. I will have to take a look at those tutorials! hugs, Angela

  10. WOW!! This is really great!! Love the new techniques you used. Will have to try them for sure. Your color choices are just fantastic and your coloring is beautiful. TFS!!

  11. Great background for your Halloween card. Thanks for sharing the tutorials. You did an awesome job! LC

  12. Lovely colouring. So nice and bright. Love your ghost ship.
    Hugs Marion (Maz)

  13. Wow I love how this turned out Myrna. It’s a perfect background for this scene. And Edwin is coloured to perfection.

    I do hope you will join the challenge that the tutorial was created for. 🙂 http://www.makeitcrafty.com.au/challenges/technique-challenge-distressing

    Hugs xxoo

  14. Hi! Myrna, well I love your background. Absolutely gorgeous. Edwin is wonderfully colored. Very cute easel card. I like the little ship so much…
    Good work.
    Hugs.
    Danielle.

  15. Just sitting here smiling at your Edwin Myrna! He is THE cutest perched on that barrel! and I mean, look at you, doing all this stuff… using your Cricut…your distress inks, your nestabilities!!!! I’ll let you off the hook for not using a punch! hahahaha Totally awesome Edwin coloring!!! He is so handsome! Love it! Great pictures too!!! : )
    Pam Going Postal

  16. Well, now, ain’t he sweet! Your background is wonderful, so much texture to it. Edwin is adorable and wonderfully colored! I like the little ship you added to your background. A fabby Easel card…hugs…Barb

  17. Pretty coloring on Edwin and your distressing background is so cool Myrna. Great card!!!
    Hugs,
    Cabio

  18. A wonderful card Myrna, you have done a super job on it. Every time I try something new it never seems to come out like the the display one lol, but this is great. Well done!
    hugs

  19. Oh I want to try this! So cute.

  20. Fabulous card!!! Your background turned out excellent. I can’t get over your wonderful colouring!!
    Love the ghost ship :o)
    You have done such a great job doing things out of your comfort zone….
    Hugs, Candy

  21. OOOHHH, Myrna! no, my attempts never turn out like the tutes either, but i LOVE the way your yellow background turned out! GORGEOUS, and definitely something i think you should revisit, because you rocked it! thanks for trying it, and playing along with our challenge at Make it Crafty! 🙂 good luck!

  22. Ahoy Matey…..Garrrrrrr!!! LOL! Awesome card!

Leave a Reply

