Madyson’s First Halloween Card

by Myrna Irwin

If you have been a regular visitor to my blog you will know that ORANGE is my all time favorite color. LOVE IT! Almost every card I make has orange of some shade on it. Fall is just my time of year all those beautiful rusts, golds, greens and reddish colors. Halloween, I’ve got it made, my colors!! Yep, perfect. Ok, along comes an eight month old great-niece. Yep, the one we all fight to get at!!! Looks just like her mama. Her colors are pink and brown!!!! You heard me right, PINK and brown. I had to weigh this carefully in my mind, Halloween – orange, Madyson – PINK! Sooooo who do you think won out????

Click on the picture to enlarge it.

 

Here is a close-up of Ladybug Tilda.

Did you really think I wouldn’t do it??? 🙂 How can I make anything but pink and brown when I can see her in her little tiny pink and brown outfits. Ahhh, love, it makes us do the strangest things. Like making a PINK Halloween card!!!!  When I heard she was wearing a Ladybug costume I knew immediately what I was going to make. I had a good idea how I wanted the card to look so in order to make it happen it ended up being a 7 x 7 card!!

If you want to see a more traditional Halloween project see my previous post. The hAnglar Bat Boy Coffin Treat Box.

Here are the stats for my card.

  • Stamp:  Ladybug Tilda – Magnolia – Right Through My Heart Collection ’10
  • Paper:  Lt Black – corduroy – Bazzill, Pajama – Criss-Cross – Bazzill, rest from my stash
  • Punches:  Spiderweb punch around the page – MS, corner rounder, heart
  • Nesties:  Petite Ovals sm & lg
  • Die Cuts:  Phoebe- skinnimini – QuicKutz
  • Distress Ink:  Spun Sugar
  • Stickles:  Frosted Lace – on all the lace
  • Copics:
  • Flesh:  E000 E00 E11
  • Hair:  E50 E53 E55 E25
  • Hearts, pole, cap, jacket, pants:  RV00 R81 R83 R85
  • Spots, tummy, bottoms of feet & outline:  W1 W3 W5 W7

I hope you like the most non-traditional Halloween card out there. Now if this isn’t thinking outside the box I don’t know what is!!!

Thanks for looking and love your comments.

M

 

 

 

27 responses to “Madyson’s First Halloween Card

  1. gorgeous Myrna!!!! LOVE the ♥ YOU!!!
    Can’t wait to see it today! lol
    Pam Going Postal

  2. What an unusual color for Halloween but it works. Great coloring.

  3. How cute is this…perfect Halloween card for a little girl!
    You did an awesome job coloring! LC

  4. Unusual but VERY adorable!!!!!! Beautifully colored and I’m sure your great-niece will love it!!!!!

    Hugs,
    Iris

  5. Oh wow! Thought it would be orange after reading the beginning of your post. 🙂 How unusual but very beautiful! I love your coloring of this Tilda! Your great-niece will LOVE it! hugs, Angela

  6. This is one sweet Halloween card – perfect for a baby girl. And perfect for a big girl too!
    Sandy D

  7. Fabulous coloring! Love the pink and brown! Way to think outside the box, I love it!
    xxAutumn

  8. Oh this is just darling!!!! What a keepsake! Just gorgeous 😀
    Rene

  9. I love to see non-traditional things and yours definitely qualifies in a most delightful way. Love it!

  10. Oh so sweet Myrna! It’s as cute as a bug – a lady bug mind you! Sweet for a baby girl!
    Hugs,
    Barb

  11. Congrats for using PINK!!
    It is the cutest Halloween card around. So happy you had the perfect Tilda for the baby’s costume!
    This card will be loved and adored by all….
    Beautiful colouring :o)

  12. I love your non traditional Halloween card! I’d choose pink over orange too. Good for you that you create outside the norm. THanks so much for sharing.
    Blessings and happy Friday!
    Leslie Avila

  13. Okay, I just think this is PERFECT!! Of course, I love pink anyway, but how cute for your little great-niece!! I would do the exact same thing, if I had thought about it!! LOL!! I just love it!!
    Hugs,
    teri

  14. Wonderful card for a little girl !!! It was gorgeous IRL. I know “Mommy” will love it !!!

  15. You always amaze me at how your projects come together! In spite of no orange and black it turned out to be a fantastic perfect Halloween card. The coloring is great, as well as the layout.

  16. So darling. Love this image, the pink and brown, and the amazing coloring. Your great-niece and her mommy will love, I do. Thanks for sharing.

  17. A true “girl” Halloween card:) LOL your cards are always better in real life:) Another perfected card!!! GREAT JOB!!!!

    Love, Andrew

  18. Such a sweet card for a sweet great-neice…..I love your coloring and the MS punch around. When I frist saw this stamp
    I knew that it would make a cute Halloween card and it does.
    Hugs Linda

  19. Hi! Myrna, WOW, I love non-traditional things, and pink is certainly the most non-traditional color for Halloween, and I LOVE IT! it’s adorable. Gorgeous spider web background, and little corners. Definitely cute.
    Danielle.

  20. It’s gorgeous!
    Hugs
    Cordine

  21. Kathy Gerace

    When this precious little lady grows up enough to understand pink for Halloween, she will love her card even more!
    Wonderful job with coloring. Love your web border.
    Kathy Gerace

  22. Beautiful Halloween card and I like the non traditional color and the fun coloring Tilda :o)
    Hugs,
    Cabio

  23. OMG!!!! I´ve no words!!! What can I say to a so talented cardmaker??? It´s amazing!! I LOVE!!!!
    Have a marvellous Sunday!!
    Hugs
    Regina

  24. Hi Myrna…well…maybe now you’ll have to add pink & brown to your “go to” colors for cards…and alternate with orange! This is beautiful!!! The colors are yummy…and the coloring is just beautiful! Pat Frank

  25. Myrna! This is ADORABLE!!!! Love it in pink; how original!!!!!! Great layout too and love how you used the border punch!!!
    Hugs, Dena

  26. Oh wow such an adorable card beautiful work!
    hugs
    kim x

  27. You know that I love the card since pink is my color! It’s always fun to see your cards in person. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

