Mail for Drew

by Myrna Irwin

Who ever would have thought that junk mail would be welcome! Drew is complaining that he doesn’t get any mail at college, not even junk mail!!! ūüė¶ So being the good mother that I am I immediately started making him a card so he will get mail. I remember when Randy and I first moved down here the mailman was my friend. He brought mail from home (before cell phones and you had constant contact with family). Now the mailman is my friend as he brings me my stamps.

I LOVE Autumn!!! It is my favorite time of year. The humidity has bid us adieu. WaHOO!!! The days are cool and crisp and the crunch of leaves when taking a walk in the trees. The beautiful colors of Fall, the oranges (you knew I’d say that!!) rusts, greens and inca golds. Ahhhhh, this is heaven. I had to make Drew a Fall card using the Edwin with the broom. So enough chatting and on to the card.

Click on the picture to enlarge it.

I really had fun making this card this morning. I’ve been to busy trying to color perfect that I wasn’t having any fun. When I would read people do this for enjoyment I thought WHAT are they talking about! When I’m done I’m completely stressed out! So, I’m going to turn over a new leaf and start relaxing and enjoying the process!!! What better way to do that then to make a card about leaves. LOL!! Ok, if I haven’t lost you already on with the stats for my card.

  • Stamps: ¬†Edwin with broom – Magnolia – Fall Stamps ’07 Collection
  • Crispy Crunchy Falling Leaves – Technique Tuesday – When Autumn Comes
  • Paper: ¬†Autumn – Recollections – ¬†all of the paper is from them
  • Nestie: ¬†Deckled rectangle, Lg
  • Extra Goodies: ¬†Cotton Ball White – Fun Flock – used it for the puff on his cap
  • Angel Wings – Shimnerz – on his wings
  • Sponged: ¬†Cantaloupe & Potter’s Clay around Edwin – Memento
  • Copics:
  • Flesh: ¬†E000 E00 E11 (chalked his cheeks)
  • Hair & broom handle: ¬†E40 E41 E42 E43 E44
  • Hat, vest & shoes: ¬†E11 E13 E15 E17 E18 E19
  • Sleeves: ¬†YR20 YR21 YR23 YR24
  • Jeans: ¬†B91 B93 B95 B97 B99
  • Broom bristles: ¬†Y21 Y26 YR23 E35 E37
  • Outline: ¬†W1 W3 W5

Well, that’s it for today. Tomorrow I hope to do Tilda with the Sunflower! I’ve had her forever but never inked her up even though I just love her. Love Sunflowers after we saw a whole field of them turning their bright yellow heads to the sun! It was just AMAZING!!

Thanks for all your wonderful comments they mean so much to me.

Have a WONDERFUL AUTUMN DAY and go take a walk and enjoy the wonders of nature!!

M

24 responses to “Mail for Drew

  1. Wow! Awesome card. The coloring and highlights make him pop off the page. The papers are great and the added touch of the metalic leaves were great, too. I also noted the cool photo in your banner.

  2. I LOVE it. The colors are superb. I am sure your son will love it. (We should deluge him with cards!)

  3. Gorgeous card, Myrna! I’ve never seen this image before! Edwin is adorable and your coloring is awesome! Love it! Your son will love it too! hugs, Angela

  4. Myrna Lynn,
    Incredible as always, sis! Drew will know for sure just how much his mother loves him when he opens this card! I especially loved the angel wings and the metalic leaves. You are right FALL is here and the crispness in the air is such a delight. If only it would stay like this forever!! Please send me his address and I will make a special effort to send him lots of mail. I’ve been emailing him often but I remember well from my college days that I would be so thrilled to get MAIL!! During his hectic college life he needs to be able to say, “I’VE GOT MAIL.” There is certainly a joyful feeling after receving your mailbox combination and then opening it and finding “MAIL.” Brings back fond memories of my college days and the beautiful fall days on campus! Nikki and I will send him some updated pictures of his godchild, little Madyson, he needs more for his fridge. I can just see him grinning from ear to ear, can’t you??

    Keep up creating your incredible cards!
    Love always,
    Sis Bev

  5. Gorgeous! Or I should say very handsome! Your son is sure to love his mail!

  6. What a great mom you are! I looooved getting mail in college! Super cute card!

  7. Hi Myrna,
    I loved your card. I keep wondering if one day I will be able to color as beautifull as you do.
    Love from Brazil,
    Leticia

  8. Awe your card is so sweet with such perfect fall colors. I too would love fall if I got to see these wonderful colors. It just doesn’t happen in Houston! Your son will be so thankful for such a talented mom!
    Hugs, Dena

  9. You did an amazing job on coloring Edwin and those leafy accents are so cute with the DP. Great job Myrna!!
    Hugs,
    Cabio

  10. What a great card and your coloring is just awesome ! coloring should bring relaxation and a smile to your ….your work does that for me ūüôā

  11. It made me laugh to learn that I’m not the only one who waits for the mail to arrive! Your card is amazing! I love how you colored this Edwin, your blending is so soft but the image is so crisp. I love your leaves with the tendrils too! Awesome dp – swirling leaves and the warm autumn colors are a beautiful blend.

    You’re right, just relax and enjoy the process! It’s therapy not a marathon! I love the coloring process and, yes, I find it relaxing!

    Hugs,
    Barb

  12. AWESOME Myrna! Autumn splendid!!! I know, I meant splendid and not splendor! lol Edwin is so handsomely colored (gorgeous)!!! Love the colors you used together and everything!
    Pam Going Postal

  13. Hi Myrna. Thanks for stopping by and leaving such sweet comments. Your card is fabulous! Such a great autumn card!

    Hugz,
    Julie

  14. Myrna, this a cute autumn card. I love all the orange and the leaf charm.

    Congrats!

    Hugs,

    Jackie

  15. Absolutely perfect! I love the colors and the perfect Fall feeling your card conveys. It’s great in every way!

  16. beautiful autumn crad.. i love it..

    Hugs, Katrin

  17. Really beautiful card..

    Hugs, Katrin

  18. What a beautiful card and thought, to make it for your son. Edwin is colored brilliantly and I love the ribbon. TFS
    hugs

  19. Your son will love this card! You did an awesome job coloring your image, it just pops off the page. I hope you had some fun with it. Love your papers and embellies.

  20. You have done it again. Great card !!! Drew will love it and will probably show it off at shcool. Myrna, just have fun making all your cards–we appreciate seeing them. To bad I won’t get to see it IRL. I will just have to drool over your blog !!!

  21. cute, cute, cute… great job

  22. Myrna, this card is so wonderful. Love that you used Edwin and fall to send to your son.. you know that now you will be expected to send him one a week!!! You know that is how their mind works and then they will be looking for a little more in the card beside a letter… LOL I love the layout and the coloring and sure your son will too… Bet he brags on it!!
    Hugs, Jean

  23. Oh wow!
    This is such a stunning card!
    hugs
    kim x

  24. Finally got it in the mail today!!! Awesome card!! I like the fluff ball on top of Edwin’s hat and the leaf pieces. Thank you for sending me this card, it was greatly appreciated:)

    Love always,
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

