Just SITTIN’ HERE


by Myrna Irwin

I am resending this email as my computer went to a white screen just as I posted the card. After fixing that problem I later found out that none of my subscribers received the email so I am trying to do a do-over. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

This Frame Card was made for a friend of the family who just found out he has lung cancer. I wanted him to know that he is in our thoughts and prayers. He also happens to spend the Summer on the coast of Maine. So of course my first thought was of the ocean backgrounds I have from Magnolia. Then Summer Edwin who is sitting was my next thought. He also happened to have been in the Navy. So I’ll be making more cards for him with the new Summer Kit.

If there are any of you out there reading this that sail boats etc. I used the Figure Eight Knot or stopper. I know I did not use the knots in the right way but wanted to use them on the card. For those of you that are not boat people a stopper knot is one that keeps the rope from slipping through a hole. On the card the knots on the left side of the post are stopper knots. Makes sense. 🙂

I don’t know how long it will take me to learn the lesson paper makes all the difference. It was not the right kind of paper so not pleased with how colors blended. I have now learned my lesson and will use those papers for gluing everything onto!!!

Click on the picture to enlarge it.

On the inside I put the saying “Just SITTIN’ HERE THINKING Of You” words.

Here are the stats for my card.

  • Stamps:  Magnolia – Summer Edwin – Lilac Summer Col ’08
  • Pier Background – Lazy Summer Days Col ’09
  • Just SITTIN’ – Chasing Butterflies Col ’09
  • Papers:  Paper Reflections – Kraft
  • 7gypsies – Barcelona Paper:  Sabadell
  • Template:  All Night Media – Summer fun  – clouds
  • Inks:  Distress Ink – tumbled glass
  • Copics:
  • Edwin
  • Flesh:  E000 E00 E11 R000
  • Hair:  E41 Y21 E42 E35 E44
  • Top:  B000 B00 B91 C1
  • Belt:  E41 E42 E43 G85
  • Pants & shoes:  YG93 YG95 G85 C1
  • Pier:
  • Water:  Booo B00 B91
  • Posts:  E31 E33 E43 E57 W3 W5
  • Ropes:  E40 E41 E42 E43
  • Bouy & Boat:  W1 W3 R20 R24 R29
  • Bricks:  N1 W1 W3 W5 YG93 (have to have moss)

Thanks for spending some time with me today.

I hope you have a great weekend!

M

18 responses to “Just SITTIN’ HERE

  1. Beautiful card. I’m sure Chuck will enjoy the card and I know your thoughtfulness will be much appreciated. The color scheme worked out great. The rope and eyelets at the top give it that added zip.

  2. Kathy Gerace

    Great card. I’m sure your friend will really enjoy it. Beautiful coloring job.
    Kathy Gerace

  3. edit this on July 30, 2010 at 5:44 pmAngela Wood
    This is a beautiful card and so perfect for someone who lives in Maine. I’m sorry about your friend. Best wishes and prayers, hugs, Angela

    edit this on July 30, 2010 at 6:00 pmDanielle
    Hello Myrna, I was touched by your story. I love the card you created to express your thought, I’m not sure I understand well, but I think this paper and your background goes well together, anyways, if I’d be your friend, I would be so honored to receive this card; just knowing you were thinking about me when you created it, would fill my heart. Artistically, I love your card, colors and papers, and knots, and darling Edwin. It says it all. I’m sorry to hear such news, my heart is also with you, may you come in peace with this
    Hugs
    Danielle.

    edit this on July 30, 2010 at 7:05 pmAndrew
    Awesome card!!! Great job creating and coloring this card:) He should definitely love this card, it’ll cheer him up after the bad news.

    Love always,
    Andrew

    edit this on July 30, 2010 at 7:27 pmLisette
    Beautiful and thoughtful card! I’m sure it will be cherished. My prayers are with your friend and you.

  4. Love it Myrna! Awesome coloring and designing! love the knots and how they tie right in to the ropes/knots on the images! Love your sky! I need to find my ANM template…I might have worn it out! lol Sounds like you had quite a day! ttut!
    Pam Going Postal

  5. Wonderful card! Your friend will definitely like this especially since he likes to go to the coast in Mine. You’ve done a wonderful job and I love how you did those knots! Hugs, Cami

  6. What a handsome Edwin card, really wonderful! Your friend is going to love it :o)
    Hugs,
    Cabio

  7. Awe, this is such a sweet card! Love the striped paper for a nautical theme and great background. I’m sure it will cheer your friend up!
    Hugs, Dena

  8. What a great card to give your friend, I’m sure he will really appreciate the effort and well wishes that come with it. My thoughts and prayers are with your friend.
    hugs
    Jennifer

  9. Myrna I just love this card there is a peace about it when looking at him ! Great job as always on your coloring.
    Hugs
    🙂

  10. great card………poor Edwin never gets equal time!
    It’s so nice to see Edwin on a card and yours is truly adorable.

  11. Hi Myrna…sorry to hear about your family’s friend and his diagnosis. He will surely appreciate the darling card and the kind sentiment. Beautifully done! Pat

  12. What a wonderful card, although I am sorry for the reason for it. Having spent three glorious years living right on the bay in mid-coast Maine, your card background reminds me very much of the wall down by the seafood restaurant in Belfast, near the tug boat. Thanks for bringing back some nice memories.

  13. Anyone who receives one of your cards should be honored. This card is great for a guy and the sad situation. You have such a big heart for thinking of others. Great Job !!

  14. Such a cute card. I hope it cheers up your friend, so sweet of you!
    hugs,
    Shell

  15. cute card

  16. Thanks Myrna for sharing these computor problems with me. It brings such frustration on one hand, and on the other, so much fun! Had it not be for these machines and internet, we would have never shared our creations, comments and moods! I would not be where I am, would not create as I do, and would have never learned that much, had it not been for being able to share via this medium… unfortunately, there is always a price to pay, and my ignorance towards this whole thing doesn’t help!!! I am totally dependant of my husband and son!!
    Thank God, they see the importance it has in my life!
    Hugs.
    Danielle

  17. Love the precious card that you created for Chuck. I’m sure that it will bring tears to his eyes and at the same time it will melt his heart to know how much Randy, Drew and you LOVE him. You are so talented and certainly touch so many people’s hearts with your special designed cards with messages straight from your heart. This card is so apropos for Chuck!!! Your kindness and love will be cherished that is for sure.

    Nikki has Madyson’s baptism card in a Memory Box-a keepsake forever. The last time she was home she found that Precious Moments Make A Joyful Noise Goose that you crossed stitched for Nikki when she was born. Now she is determined to find a place in Madyson’s room for that too. Just think that has been 31 years ago and it is just as beautiful as they day you gave it to her!!!!

    Thanks for all your love,
    Love ya sis,
    Bev

  18. Myrna, love this card.. I am so sure you will make Chuck very happy and will help him get through what he is going to have to go through… you are a great friend to him and I am sure this will be the 1st of many cards you will make… Your colors of Edwin is wonderful and your details are so wonderful… great job…
    Hugs,Jean

Leave a Reply

