Randy’s Birthday Card

by Myrna Irwin

A little background first on the beginnings of the card. Last August we went to Utah for vacation. While there I happened upon a hobby store. (Not as easy as that sounds when we were just going to National Parks out there.) Anyway they just happened to be having a pretty good sale on Cricuts. My birthday just happened to be while we were out there. So my hubby bought me a Cricut Expression.  WaHoo!! Ok, life happens, six months later it’s still in the box. Hubby asks where is it. Ok, I get it out put it on the desk top minus any cords, etc. It’s just sitting there. We are now approaching mid-July. Almost a whole year later. My hubby informs me if I don’t use last years present I’m not getting one this year!!!! Ahhh, now to the point of the post his birthday card using my Cricut.

Ok, that 1/4″ to 24″ isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. I have never cut out more shapes in my life trying to find the right size!!! No, I did not read the directions!!! Anyway here is the card I came up using my Cricut and Maggies. I hope you like it. As I have never walked away and come back to a card as often as I did on this one!

Click on the picture to enlarge it.

I made a HUGE Step Card! I did say I had trouble with sizes. LOL I used my Cricut to cut the pirate ship, waves, treasure map and did not use the treasure chest. It was to big and I ran out of paper to cut any more. Here’s my stats for the card.

  • Magnolia:  Pirate Edwin, used just the skull and bones from Pirate Tilda Jolly Roger, bottle with letter and the barrel, skull and anchor
  • Cricut cartridge:  Paper Doll Dress Up
  • savvy:  Happy Birthday
  • PrintWorks:  cloud template
  • QuicKutz:  circle doodads for the portholes ( I also put transparency in the holes)
  • Punch:  MS chain
  • Distress Inks:  Tea, Walnut
  • Other inks:  white
  • Copics used:
  • Flesh:  same as usual
  • Hair:  E31 E35 E37
  • Hat, pants, shoes, bands on barrel, anchor, chain:  W1 W3 W5 110
  • Shirt:  R21 R24 R29W1 W3 W5
  • Barrel:  E31 E33 E43 E57 W1
  • Cork and letter: used various 30’s

I’m going to be giving it to him early as he’ll be in Boston on his birthday. I hope he appreciates all the work I went to. LOL!!!

Well, this has been fun. I hope you enjoyed looking as much as I did making it. (I really did have fun making it.)

I’ve been scrapbooking our 1997 Colorado vacation pics so haven’t been making many cards. Probably will get a few cards in this summer but will be mainly working on scrapbooking until fall.

Thanks for looking and leaving the awesome comments.

Myrna

23 responses to “Randy’s Birthday Card

  1. hey- this is really sweet! ha ha! love the story behind it too! I am really dieing to get a Cricut too so I have been looking and looking and trying to decide if I am gonna use it or not….well …heck..I want one anyways!! tfs!

  2. So cute Myrna! I just love the Pirates stamps; he is going to LOVE it!!! Well done!

  3. Oh, this is adorable…….love, love your project!!!! I might just need one of those machines too!

  4. Oh my goodness, Myrna…what a gorgeous and intricate work of art. I have to go back and look at it again…so many great details! Love that you actually put in “windows: in the portholes! Your sweet hubby will LOVE this one of a kind gift! Just beautiful, girlfriend! Pat Frank

  5. WOW! That card is awesome! He should really be impressed! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Oh my gosh, your card is AMAZING!!! I have a Silhouette that was in the box for a year. Finally got it out of the box, hooked up to a new computer I bought just for it and I have yet to cut anything so I totally understand where you are coming from. I hope when I get around to cutting I can make something as awesome as this. You can tell a lot of thought went in to your card. I am sure he will love it.
    hugs, Diana

  7. WOW…..you blew it ‘out of the water’ with this card!
    Awesome work!!

  8. So cute, love the scene you created!
    Hugs, Christine

  9. Oh wow! Wow! Wow! That is Awesome! If he doesn’t like it, take him back to the national park and toss him in a river! ;). Just kidding…but serously, this card is Awesome!!

  10. I love this card. So very cute. I love the pirate theme…love the boat! I am sure he will be very pleased. And by the way Happy Birthday Randy.

  11. Oh WOW! That is AWESOME! Couldn’t get any better than this! Brilliant design and coloring! I hope hubby love this! I had to laugh at your little explanation – sounds just like me and my hubby LOL! You must have used the Paper Dolls cartridge for this one, right? I don’t have any pirate Magnolias – I will have to pick some up and totally copy this! 😉 hugs, Angela

  12. WOW!!! This is such an awesome card, i love the lil bottle with the note floating in the waves and Edwin looks adorable. Fantastic all round.
    Big Smiles to you
    Kylie 😀

  13. HOW AWESOME is this Myrna! That ship turned out over the top cool and your Edwin and everything else coloring is ssssswwweeet! Way to go w/the chain punch! lol Are you going to let him take it to Boston with him? lol Can’t wait to see it IRL!!!
    Pam Going Postal

  14. WOW !!! What a great card. I love the scene you created even if you had trouble with the size. It turned out “way to cute”. So, now what is this years birthday present going to be ???

  15. Gaaaarrrrrrrr!!!!!! I found the treasure! lol:) Awesome card creation with the sandpaper and Cricket cartridge!!! Dad will love it!

    Love always, Andrew

  16. Wow!! Amazing!! The ship is gorgeous and the coloring is incredible. Great Job!

  17. So cute Myrna, I love this little pirate and I think your scenery is just gorgeous. Sure thing your husband will like it.
    Hugs.
    Danielle.

  18. i see you do this FABULOUS!! card with your cricut and my heart breaks for mine as it very seldom sees the light of day. Perhaps its time after nearly five years to give it another bash.
    I love your card and the effort is certainly worth the result, BRILLIANT!
    smiles
    Paola

  19. WOW!!! This is such an awesome card!!! I love the little bottle with the note floating in the waves too, and Edwin looks so cute!! Amazing coloring and all details are so gorgeous!. Fantastic job!!
    Hugs
    Regina from Belo Horizonte – Brazil

  20. I love it. You are extremely talented. I hope he loves it too:}

  21. Such a fun card with cheerful coloring. The scene sets in beautifully!
    Hugs,
    Cabio

  22. Awesome card! I see someone gets a birthday present this year, too. Amazing layout. Great coloring. The portholes are cute, too. The only thing that beats it is the supper tonight. Thanks for the card and all your hard work on it and supper.

  23. Thank you so much for your comments on my blog. Popped over here and wow I LOVE this!! it is brilliant! I love pop up cards and this is truely gorgeous. hugs xxoo

Leave a Reply

