More Summer Fun

by Myrna Irwin

Nothing says Summer to me like bike riding and going to the beach. Every 4th of July was spent at the lake when I was growing up. I have many happy memories there. So I had to make this card for my middle sisters birthday which is a day after my oldest sister. A first for me is that I entered the Inky Impressions May Challenge for Summer Fun. Stepping outside the box!! LOL Yes, I do color images other than Magnolia. I think it turned out pretty well considering I was dealing with a thunder-storm and drain tile issues as I was coloring. Here I was out in the yard with my umbrella and a metal rod. What a lightening rod I was!!! LOL I lived to tell the tale so guess it wasn’t my time yet. Anyway here’s my pictures of the card.

Click on the picture to enlarge it.

A side view so you can see the corner sand dollar punched.

A little tip here. Adhesive tabs do not like to stick to sandpaper!! lol  I did reglue the ocean background to the sand paper so it’s not gapping like that. I never noticed it when I was taking the picture. Other than that this card was so much fun to do.

Here are my stats.

  • Stamps:  Inky Impressions-Water Lili
  • Magnolia-Ocean Background/Lazy Summer Day’s Collection ’09
  • Technique Tuesday-Endless Summer
  • Savvy Stamps-Happy Birthday
  • Paper:  Bazzill -Pistachio
  • Sand paper
  • Embellies:  Magic Scraps-sand dollar & starfish
  • Punch:  MS sand dollar corner punch
  • Inks:  Antiquities-Verdigris/water
  • Distress Ink-tumbled glass/clouds
  • Color Box-Dune, Color Box Chalk-yellow cadmium/sand
  • Copics:
  • Lili
  • Flesh:  E000 E00 E11 R000
  • Eyes:  N1 E30 E35 E37
  • Lips:  YR02
  • Hair:  E41 E42 Y21 E35 E44
  • Hat & dress:  Y00 Y11 Y13 Y08
  • Ribbon, bodice and ruffles:  BG23 BG32 BG34
  • Ocean Background
  • Sun:  Yoo Y11 Y13
  • Ship:  E0000 E000 E41 E42 E44 R11 R12 R14 R17

At first I thought I would NEVER make another step-card but figured out my problem and now I really like it.

Thank you for looking and hope you could feel the ocean breeze on your face!!

Myrna

17 responses to “More Summer Fun

  1. Let me be the first to tell you what a great job you did on the birthday card. The coloring is superb and the eyes were awesome, as well. The card design (fan fold) adds great dimension to scene, as well.

  2. Wow, this is gorgeous! Great coloring! Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. What a happy feeling card…so summery….love it all….TFS
    hugs
    Jennifer

  4. Hi Myrna! I’m so glad to see you do an Inky card. This is absolutely gorgeous! Your coloring is beautiful and the scenery fabulous! I hope you entered it at the Inky Yahoo group contest! TFS hugs, Angela

  5. Gorgeous card, Myrna! You colored this pretty girl to perfection. It is such a sweet image!

  6. Isn’t she lovely!!! so sweet and innocent! Beautiful coloring and design Myrna…your sister is going to LOVE it!
    Pam Going Postal

  7. You did such a beautiful job on this card, Myrna! Your coloring is wonderful and the beach scene is so cute! I thought you had used real sand dollars at first. I’m sure your sister will treasure this one for a long time….
    Hugs,
    Barb

  8. Myrna your card is just to cute ! I love it and your coloring is always so pretty ! Each time I come to your blog your cards just make me smile.
    Hugs

  9. Oh my word this is totally GORGEOUS, LOVE the scene you created with the step fold and OMG your coloring is BEAUTIFUL!!

  10. Gorgeous scene you have created Myrna, Lili is beautiful, I am sure your sister is going to love it. Don’t fancy your weather lol! Take CareX:)

  11. Oh Myrna,
    This is gorgeous. Your sister has to love it. I love the little shells you added. Your card makes me want to go to the beach =) The stamp is super cute!
    hugs,
    Shell

  12. Myrna, What a great card !!! She is so cute and you did an awesome job on the eyes. I like the format of the card. Is that an orange boat I see in the background ???

  13. Gorgeous card!! Wow!

  14. I love this beach scene!! Just looks like fun! Your other Maggie cards are looking good too!! 🙂

  15. Oh Myrna, I love your card, it is truly fabulous. Thanks for sharing!

  16. Awesome job using sand paper for the sand portions of the card! Really cool usage of the sand dollars and star fish too!!!

  17. Myrna Lynn,
    WOW!!! I love the stepfold and it looks just like little Debbie standing on the beach. Summer memories alright and she has starfish and sand dollars in her bathroom decor!! Her students always bring some back for her after their summer vacations-so she has quite a collection. And the aqua and brown are incredible-another walk down memory lane. I feel as if I am 10 again and remembering all the 4th of Julys we would spend on the beach. Since we got our pontoon we all enjoy that so much but have to remember the kiddos will LOVE playing in the sand, building sandcastles and searching for seashells. Can’t wait to see Deb’s and touch the sand. (I am very tactile remember). Deb is coming down for goulash and peanut squares-should head for a beach, HA!

    LOL,
    Bev

Leave a Reply

