Vi’s Birthday Card

by Myrna Irwin

Ok, I’m going to do something I’ve never done before and that is rant for a little bit. Have you ever done something to make someone feel better and have it go horribly wrong? I did that this morning, my son had had a physically tough first day of work, blisters on hands every muscle hurts. I had made him a hot drink to take to work this morning. I went to give him a hug goodbye and knocked the cup out of his hand and it landed with a thud minus the lid!!! Yes, I’m sure you can imagine the mess everywhere. My just washed rug, husbands computer bag, shoes, you get the picture. Oh yes, I forgot it had been raining for hours. I should say for days. Ahhh, so what is the silver lining in this mess. I have learned the trick to distressing the edge of papers! Yes, I took all my frustration out on that innocent paper. Ahhhhh, that felt sooo good. Ok, I feel better so on to the card.

This is for my cousin’s 73rd birthday although, you would never guess she was anywhere that old. As long as I’ve known her she always says, “let’s sit down and have a cup of tea”. Then she writes a 10 page letter. So I thought this card was perfect for her.

Click on the picture to enlarge it.

Here are the stats for my card.

  • Stamps:  Magnolia-Dinner Tilda & teacup-both are from the A Little Yummy For Your Tummy Collection ’09 Alias Smith & Rowe-flower background stamp, savvy stamps-birthday wishes
  • Paper:  most are from my stash Bazzill-cantalope
  • Punch:  MS-frond
  • Nesties:  classic scalloped circle, sm I got the directions for the flower from Silvie I LOVE IT!
  • Copics:
  • Flesh: same as usual except used YR00 for cheeks
  • Hair:  E51 E35 E25 E29
  • tea cup, sleeves & socks:  G0000 G000 G00 G02
  • Outfit& beads: YR0000 YR000 YR00 YR01 YR02
  • Shoes:  E43 E44 E47
  • Shadow:  C1 C4

Well that’s it for today a glimpse into my life. Hmmmm, actually the flower looks like it took the brunt of the drink. LOL It really is orangy.

Have a good one today love your comments!

Myrna

12 responses to “Vi’s Birthday Card

  1. Myrna your card turned out lovely! Your coloring and distressing are perfect! Hope the rest of the week is perfect for you too!

  2. This is so pretty. Yes, distressing is therapeudic IMO. Sorry about the coffee incident. The intention was there, right! 🙂

  3. Hi Myrna, well you might have had a bad start to your day, but it sure didn’t transfer to your card! This is really delightful and the distressed edges are so wonderfully done!!! LOL Your coloring is fabulous, as it always is! Great job, sweet card!

  4. Love the color you chose to use with the orange. Who knew it would look so great. I also like the layers of flowers in the corner. Great job coloring. You have got that orange down perfect. LOL See you soon.

  5. Great job with the distressed edges. The flower is really unique, too. As always, the coloring is fantastic. I’m sure Vi would love to have a cup of tea with you.

  6. Myrna, Love the card… the coloring is perfect and love the cup she is sitting on.. but most of all I love the flower in the corner… perfect with the image… you did a great job on the whole card, so I guess for all turned out well for your card.. now for your other prolems.. you heard the term “when it rains it pours” well that must be what is happening to you today hun…. it will get better….. happy day…. 🙂
    Hugs, Jean

  7. Myrna, your coloring is amazing on this image! I could take a few lessons from you that’s for sure! I wish I had picked up this cute tea cup when I had the chance. Love your distressing too! Well done!

    Here’s to a better day tomorrow.. 🙂 hugs, Angela

  8. Myrna – she will LOVE this! Glad you added the background stamp…it’s perfect! Thanks for telling the copic colors… I’ll try this brown combo. Beautiful coloring and card….yep, she’ll adore this!!!
    Pam Going Postal

  9. Love the colors you chose! It is a really nice card & I’m sure she will love it. And we all have days like that..some more than others LOL!…Here’s to a better day today!
    Hugs ~
    Pam Brown

  10. Your card is adorable and I know will be MUCH loved. So sorry about your accident spill! It was the thought behind it all that counts! hugs.

  11. Awesome job of coloring and distressing the card!!! Keep up the great work!!! Vi will love it!

  12. Very cute, love it!
    Hugs, Christine

Leave a Reply

